

PROGRAM

The Australian Council of Deans of Science Annual Meeting 2019

28-29 October, University House Australian National University

Monday 28 October

0.20 0.45 a.m.	Duracidant's violature				
9.30 - 9.45am	President's welcome				
	Prof Brian Yates, President ACDS				
9.45 – 10.15am	Opening, Prof John Shine, President, AAS				
	Policy Issues for Australian University Science				
10.15 – 10.45am	Prof Doreen Thomas, Board member, ATSE				
	Policy Issues for Australian University Science				
10.45 – 11.15am	Morning tea				
11.15 – 12.00pm	Policy Issues for Australian University Science				
	John Shine (AAS), Anna-Maria Arabia (AAS), Doreen Thomas (ATSE), Margaret				
	Hartley (ATSE), Catriona Jackson (UA)				
	Panel Q&A				
12.00 – 12.30pm	Australian University Science – media campaign				
	Refraction Media - Karen Taylor Brown, CEO, Heather Catchpole, Head of Content				
12.30 – 2.00pm	Working Lunch:				
	Discussion groups: What policies for university science?				
2.00 – 3.30pm	Revolutionising the BSc				
	University of Newcastle - Dr Andrew Kepert, Dr Bonnie McBain, Dr Liam Phela				
	Curtin University - Professor Mark Buntine				
	Panel Q&A				

3.30 – 4.00pm	Afternoon Tea
4.00 – 5.00pm	 AGM Reports (President, Executive Director, Treasurer) Election of Office Bearers T&L Centre Plan and Budget Policy Platform – exploratory discussion
5.00 – 6.00pm	Networking event at University House (drinks and canapes)
7.00 – 10.00 pm	Dinner: Courgette, 54 Marcus Clarke St, Canberra City Speaker: Defence Chief Scientist Professor Tanya Munro

Tuesday 29 October

9.00 – 10.30am	Three Deans				
	Noteworthy aspects and key issues for science in their universities				
	 Professor Melissa Brown - Executive Dean, Faculty of Science, University of Queensland 				
	 Professor Jeremy Kilburn - Pro Vice Chancellor, Faculty of Science and Engineering, Curtin University 				
	 Professor Lee Smith - Pro Vice Chancellor, Science, University of Newcastle 				
	Panel and audience discussion				
10.30 – 11.00pm	Morning tea				
11.00 – 11.30pm	Science & Technology Australia				
	Kylie Walker, CEO				
11.30 – 1.00pm	Demonstrable quality in science teaching and Learning:				
	Staff roles and evolving KPI's				
	Prof Pauline Ross, USyd, ALT Fellow				
	A/Prof Tina Acuna and Dr Jo-Anne Kelder, UTAS, ACDS Teaching Fellows				
	Prof Susan Rowland, Dep A/Dean Academic, UQ				
1.00 – 2.00pm	Conference Close and Lunch				